7 Years Post VSG

I had my Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy on December 15, 2009.  That puts me at just over 7 years post op.  I recently had a follow up appointment at my surgeons office.  I hadn’t been there in four years.  They finally called me to get lab work done and made an appointment.  I got the lab work done and went for my appointment on the 14th of February.  I weighed 312 lbs. My highest weight was 403.  My lowest weight I got to was 253.  I have had some regain.  I blame the gain on the mental health issues that have surfaced.

In December of 2013, I was hospitalized for the first time for manic depression and anxiety.  I had my first panic attack. It was not fun.  That’s when all the meds started.  Over the past few years, I was hospitalized five different times.  The diagnosis I was given is Schizo-Affective Disorder Bipolar.  At first I was scared of the diagnosis.  I also dealt with depression and anxiety.  I began to emotionally eat again at times.  I focused on my mental health and my weight inched back up.  In December of 2016 I was hospitalized again.  I was on at least six meds.  They took me off all of them and started me on Seroquel.  I began taking two capsules at bed time.  It was nice to not be on so many meds.  They also recommended I start seeing a new therapist. They thought the change would be good for me.  It was weird seeing someone new.  I’m grateful she is nice and easy to talk to.

I had lab work done and found out I am deficient in Iron and Vitamin D.  So the weight loss surgeon’s office suggest I start taking Iron, Vitamin C and Vitamin D as well as a multi vitamin.  I will get labs again in three months.  My A1C level was also slightly up so my Psych doctor started me on Metformin.  I take two at night before bed.  My psych doctor said that the Seroquel is to blame for the recent weight gain and increase in A1C.  My regular doctor reassured me that I am not diabetic.    She said they put me on the Metformin to counteract the Seroquel.  I will say that since I’ve been on Seroquel, I have had night time food cravings and I have given in to them.   I’m glad to say that I’m doing a lot better mentally now and I’m back to work full time.

I work from home now.  It’s made my job a lot more tolerable.  I’m not so miserable now.  I really like it.  I don’t have to go anywhere in the morning.  And I can wear comfy clothes. Shoot I can wear my PJ’s if I want to.  It’s been a couple weeks now since I started at home.  I hope I can work from home permanently.  Right now though it’s a 2 month pilot.  Stress is not bad at all and I haven’t had any anxiety issues either.  Working from home has been a good change.

As for my weight, I’m back to working on it again.  I joined a gym two weeks ago and have started to go three times a week for now.  Right now, the focus is on cardio so all I’m doing is biking.  The first week was 20 minutes a session.  The second week, I upped it to 30 minutes.  I rode 4.5 miles in that 30 minutes so that’s not too bad.  I’m also recording my food again.  I use MyFitnessPal and my username is dottiemay71.  Feel free to friend me if you’re on there also.  My struggle is drinking enough water.  I wasn’t getting any water in at all.  I always drank pop or tea or juice.  Water was not part of my diet at all.  I’m trying to make it a part now; even if it’s flavored water.

Well, I think that’s it for now.  Thanks for reading all of this.  I’m going to try to get back on here and blog more often.

Peace – Love – Smiles

This entry was posted in Obesity, Wellness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 Years Post VSG

  1. Cathy S. says:

    Hi Dottie! Thanks for the update! I take metformin also. Glad you on the right meds and doing much better! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

