Fit for Fall Challenge

Hey there!  It’s been a little while since I’ve posted.  I always think about it, but then don’t follow through. I always seem to get side tracked.  So, what is Fit for Fall?  It’s a challenge that my employer is running. It actually began on October 1 and runs through the end of the month.  Basically it’s an opportunity to set some goals and increase your fitness.  The goals I set were:

1. Drink more water and less soda.

2. Ride a total of 40 miles on my bicycle over the course of the month.

3. Make small changes, but be consistent with food and exercise. In other words, try to develop some healthy habits.

I did not set any goals of losing a specific amount of weight because that would just set me up for disappointment.  I’ve had awful luck with actually seeing the scale go down lately.  So…I spared myself that disappointment.  Besides, what I really want is an increased fitness level, be healthier and feel good.  I’m NOT focusing on any one number. Forget that stressful business!

So, it’s October 10 already. How have I been doing?  One thing I’ve learned so far is that I seem to have a bit of an addiction problem to soda pop.  It doesn’t have to be caffeine either.  It’s just that fizzy feeling on my tongue that I seem to enjoy.  So, I need to find some healthier alternatives that aren’t loaded with artificial sweetners such as aspartame or splenda. Those do me no good.  I have cut back on the soda, but it’s not out yet.  I’ve been trying to drink more water, but it’s generally a flavored water such as Sobe Lifewater or Vitamin Water.  I just cannot seem to do plain water. It gives me heartburn much of the time. Weird.

My bike riding is going awesome in my opinion.  So far I have 25-3/4 miles in.  I’ve done three rides so far.  Two were a little over 7 miles and one was 10.85 miles. Yeah!!

I’ve been tracking my food and exercise on MyFitnessPal.  I think I’ve done pretty well, but I have my off times for sure.  I’m only human. 

In addition to these, I’ve also started a 30-day plank challenge. Today will be day 4.  Every day or two the time increases. Today is a 30-second plank.  Now, 30 seconds certainly doesn’t seem like much time at all under most circumstances.  However, when you are a big girl like me, 30-seconds in a plank position seems like forever!  But I do it.  By the end of the 30 days you’re supposed to be up to holding a plank for 5 minutes.  I personally have a very hard time believing that I’ll be able to do it.  But, I will most certainly do my best every day and at the end of the 30 days will have an improvement over day 1. 

Aside from a lot of pain in my feet and right knee, I’m feeling pretty good.  My husband is sick right now though. I hope he feels better soon.  No fun being sick. 😦

That’s it for now. 

Peace. Love. Smile.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

