Weight! Did I Do That?

This morning it dawned on me. In this blog I have openly shared my weight. I have another blog that I haven’t done anything with in a long time and I shared my weight there as well. I have also shared my weight in my YouTube videos. The difference is…those other things, I’ve never shared with anyone I knew in my real life/face to face. I figured it was okay to share my weight there because those people didn’t know me and for some reason I didn’t fear judgement from those I didn’t know.

So for me to step outside my shell and share not only this blog but my weight too is a very BIG step for me. So why am I sharing? Well, I’ve decided that I cannot be afraid to be me. And why should I only share with strangers when perhaps there are those in my real world that could cheer me on as well. Why was I so afraid of sharing with those I know anyway? One word…fear.

I’m really not sure what has led me to have so much fear. I’ve been through a lot of hurt and perhaps that’s part of it…perhaps I feared being hurt somehow.

Weigh in is tomorrow and no I don’t look forward to it. I hate the scale. I know it’s just a number and it doesn’t define me, but for some reason that stupid number has had some kind of control over me more than once. I only weigh in because its required to maintain my health insurance incentive.

I will be back tomorrow to share what my weight is. Yikes!

This entry was posted in Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weight! Did I Do That?

  1. I know exactly how you feel about hiding your weight from people you know. A lot of people do that, myself included. I think it might come from a sense of shame and embarrassment along with feeling that you will be judged by it. In our society today, it seems like people who are fat, “fluffy” or outright obese are constantly judged and measured; viewed as lazy with no self-respect because we don’t care enough to take care of our bodies. Unless they have been in the same position, they have no clue how hard many of us try to become healthy.

    Try not to be scared or dread the weigh-ins. The weigh-ins can help show your progress as you continue on your journey. Just make sure you don’t focus on just the number on the scale, though, because you are right; it doesn’t define you. 😀 Good luck.

Leave a Reply

